My father… He’s a mix of superman, handyman, and John Wayne.

Over the years I have memorized his “sayings” and can repeat them faster than he can say them at usually at the right time – which secretly annoys him. He is definitely a man of few words but here are some of his favorites:

Walk it off.

It didn’t matter where it is on your body, “walk it off” was his answer for making it better. Cut your hand? “Walk it off.” Fall out of the tree and break your leg? “Walk it off.” Mishap with the chainsaw? “Walk it off.” I swear sometimes when my kids get hurt he’s just waiting for me to say it… and I do.

What do the Germans have to do with it?

I’ve never figured this one out. Forget about asking him because he’s just going to tell you “they don’t have anything to do with it” and that his point. Its just an odd phrase. If he doesn’t buy your arguement…”what do the Germans have to do with it?”

I swore as a child I would figure out a way to bring the Germans into it, by God, but as of yet I haven’t…still, there’s always hope.

It’s good for you, it’ll put hair on your back…

Really? Because I’m thinking that if I didn’t want to eat it before I’m DEFINITELY not interested in eating it now.

Ahhh, it’s all in your mind.

Whatever the problem this is the response. Sometimes its about something you could be worried about or something that happened. It truely is one of his favorites.

The three most important parts of success are: Attitude, Attitude, Attitude.

This one just makes me sick. Sick. Sick. Sick. Sick. It may well have been the first words I ever remember him saying to me: “Attitude, Attitude, Attitude”. Things are bad at work because they’re downsizing? Attitude, Attitude, Attitude.

Upset because they’re cutting everyone’s salary including yours? Attitude, Attitude, Attitude.

Boss is taking out their frustrations on you and riding you every minute of every day? Attitude, Attitude, Attitude.

Reality is 95% perception and 5% fact.

This one is usually tied in to “Ahhh, it’s all in your mind.” Nuff said.

You don’t know Jack.

Everyone knows this one, but my father loves to use it to aggravate who ever he is talking to. Dear old Dad LOVES to needle the grandkids with it, he can start a real arguement with it that usually spills over into the car ride home… Gee, thanks Dad.

.

In the end, however, I’m grateful for the father he is. He’s always been there for me (in as much as “John Wayne” can be). He’s always kept me grounded and taught me the lesson of taking responsibility for my own actions. And even though his sayings make me cringe sometimes I wouldn’t trade him for all the gold in the world. Well…

 

Cheers!

