There’s something so warming about Cornbread. I love the way it smells when its baking, the different ways you can use it in or with a meal. Most of all, it reminds me of when I was growing up and my mother would cook it. My momma loves me – she always says life is like a … wait…

*cough* cough*

First let me start by saying in the South we don’t add sugar to Cornbread – EVER. If you ever look up a recipe for Southern Style cornbread and it lists sugar as an ingredient then you’re being lied to (or some freaky foodie is playing with you). Cornbread with sugar is only an occassional treat and is usually around dessert – not normal eating. You may find it in restaurants – I have, and those restaurants usually don’t have “sweet” tea just some weak, watery substitute… but I digress.

You can, however add bacon or cracklin. YUM!

Okay, now that we have that out of the way here’s what you’re going to need:

1 large egg

1 1/3 cups of milk (your choice here unless you use Buttermilk then use 1 3/4 cups)

1/4 cup vegetable oil

2 cups self rising corn meal

8″ cast iron skillet (or baking pan – but cast iron works best)

What to do:

  • Preheat oven to about 450 degrees and coat your skillet / pan (whatever) with vegetable oil.
  • Take some cornmeal, about a palm full, and put in skillet and shake until coated and up the side just a bit – shake off excess into trash or whatever
  • Combine all ingredients and mix until creamy and pourable – if it’s too thick just add a tablespoon of milk until it is so.
  • Pour mix into the pan starting at the edge and work your way around – once poured sift to settle and level mix
  • Bake in oven for 20 to 25 minutes (or until golden brown)

It doesn’t take much time at all, really. In fact I made some cornbread while I was working my way through today’s post – and I got pictures to prove it (yeah).

What to do next:

Once your cornbread is done, take it out of the oven and let it rest a few minutes, about 5 should be fine. After a brief rest take a knife and work it around the edges of the cornbread and the skillet.

Finally… Flip the skillet over and give the back a good “knock” and the cornbread should fall right out – easy peasy, lemon squeazy.

Cheers!

