I know, I know, you already know how to shave… yeah, but you still don’t like it.

Ok, truth be told I don’t like shaving much either but at least I don’t have many of the problems so many men have today: nicks, cuts, razor burn, etc… and you don’t have to have them either.

Any quick Google search on shaving is bound to produce TONS of hits. There are videos all over the internet on how to shave, how to use a double edge razor, how to use a straight edge razor, and the list goes on and on… so what’s the big deal?

Shaving is something that used to be taught by fathers to their sons. Of course, way back when they used to use the straight razors which was definitely an Art form (they don’t call them Widow Makers for nothing). With  the invention of the Double edge razor and then the cartridge razors the tradition seem to have faded away. I remember my first shave and the only words I got from my father were “just don’t cut yourself”. Seemed easy enough, I had hair on my face and the razor would take if off; all I had to do was move the razor across my skin to remove the hair and NOT cut myself. I just shaved in whatever manner and direction that seemed quickest and easiest.

So, what’s the big deal? There was, and is, a better way: Wet Shaving.

Here are the basics:

  1.  Have the right equipment. It doesn’t have to be fancy or expensive but you will need a good razor ( I use an old Double edge razor bought off  eBay for $4), something to make a good lather with, and LOTS of hot water.
  2. Know how it grows. Knowing how your hair grows, in which direction, is very important in a great shave. Don’t shave one Saturday and look at your beard. Does it grow straight down on one side and at an angle on another? Does the hair grow down on your check but up on your neck? Understand the direction your hair grown is essential for shaving, see step three.
  3. Pressure is NOT your friend. Let’s face it the song was great but for shaving it stinks. You need only enough pressure to keep the blade against your skin – nothing more.
  4. Shave with the grain. On your first pass you will shave WITH the grain. The thing to remember is that shaving is about removing hair – not skin. The first pass with the grain will make the second pass easier and less of an irritation.
  5. Shave 45 degrees across the grain. The second pass is 45 degrees across the grain and is usually all you will need for shaving.

That’s it, that’s all there is to it. Doesn’t sound THAT much different than what you may be doing now – but it is. Keep in mind that as you try it and see the difference in your shaves (and you will notice the difference) you may want to try better equipment (razors, creams, shaving soaps, etc…).

The link below is to my favorite site for such stuff.

http://www.classicshaving.com/Home.html

Cheers!

